Tyson Foods, Inc. named Kevin J. Igli chief environmental officer. In the newly created position, Igli will ensure the company’s compliance with all federal, state and local environmental laws and regulations, and manage all corporate environmental compliance.

Kraft Foods North America (KFNA) announced several management changes. John Ruff, senior vice president, research and development, will trade job assignments with Jean E. Spence, senior vice president, worldwide quality, scientific affairs and compliance. Daryl G. Brewster assumes the role of group vice president, KFNA and president, biscuit, snacks & confections. Lance Friedmann is the new group vice president, Canada, Mexico and Puerto Rico, and Health & Wellness.

FDA plans to work with the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) to review industry measures that could reduce the risk of intentional bioterrorism or contamination. IFT will provide information about temperature, technology, chemical treatments, and other ways to reduce or mitigate risk. The review will assess ways to prevent or reduce the risk of contamination of processed food either through natural or intentional acts and will provide information on various research needs that might be used for eliminating or reducing risk. The effort will complement ongoing food security efforts, existing food security guidance, and proposed regulations, according to FDA Commissioner Mark B. McClellan.

Michael H. Keown has joined Dean Foods Co. as president, Dean branded products group. Keown formerly held the position of president and general manager for the shelf stable division of the Minute Maid Co.

The American Society of Agricultural Engineers (ASAE) named Kenneth R. Swartzel a Fellow of the Society. He is director of the North Carolina Technology Development Initiative at the University of North Carolina, a William Neal Reynolds distinguished professor, and head of the Department of Food Science at North Carolina State University. Swartzel is being recognized for his contributions in the areas of kinetic theory and thermal processing of foods.

The Storsack Group acquired the operations and assets of Mulox North America. Based in Houston, The Storsack U.S.-based operation will continue to operate as Ecotainer, Inc., the acquiring company for the Mulox operations in Macon and Baxley, GA.

The Reusable Pallet & Container Coalition (RPCC) announced new leaders: president, Allan Wasserman of Orbis; vice president, David Russell of IFCO Systems; secretary/treasurer, Norm Stipp of ArcaSystems; director, Patrick Cotter of Worthington Steelpac Industries; director, Eric Frederickson of IPL Products, Ltd.; and director, David Rodgers of Hays Container Services.

Patrick McCallister, formerly of Con Agra Foods, joined Ingenium Packaging, LLC as director of strategic business implementation.

The Foundation for the International Association of Food Industry Suppliers (IAFIS) awarded two students with food engineering scholarships. Purdue University student Leah Beth Maxwell received the Paul Girton Food Engineering Scholarship. Jason Lewis Myhre, a student at the University of Florida, received the Gordon Houran Food Engineering Scholarship. The students each received a $2,500 award and a $500 travel grant to attend the Worldwide Food Expo 2003.