USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack has appointed new members to the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods (NACMCF) for the 2015-2017 term.

Established in 1988 by USDA’s Food Safety and Inspection Service, the US Department of Health and Human Services (Food and Drug Administration and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention), the Department of Commerce (National Marine Fisheries Service), and the US Department of Defense, the committee advice on public health issues related to the safety of the US food supply.

"NACMCF members offer invaluable insights on food safety issues," said Secretary Vilsack. "These individuals will be instrumental in protecting our nation's food supply."

Newly appointed NACMCF members are: Gary Acuff, Texas A&M University; Vanessa Coffman, consumer representative; Peter Feng, US Department of Health and Human Services, FDA; Scott Hanna, US Department of Defense; Carolyn Hovde, University of Idaho; Bala Kottapalli, ConAgra Foods Inc.; Margie Lee, University of Georgia; Tiffiani Onifade, Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services; Laurie Post, Mars Global Chocolate; and John Ruby, JBS USA, LLC.

Returning members are: Arun Bhunia, Purdue University, Department of Food Science; David Gombas, United Fresh Produce Association; Larry Goodridge, McGill University; Scott Hood, General Mills, Inc.; Steven Ingham, Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection; Jeffery Kornacki, Kornacki Microbiology Solutions, Inc.; Robert Labudde, Least Cost Formulations, Ltd.; Richard Linton, North Carolina State University, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences; Guy Loneragan, West Texas A&M University, Department of Agricultural Science; Evelyn Mbandi, USDA, Food Safety and Inspection Service; Peter Muriana, Oklahoma State University, Animal Science Department; Alison O'Brien, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences; Wilfredo Ocasio, The National Food Laboratory; Salina Parveen, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Food Science and Technology; Ruth Petran, Ecolab, Inc.; Jennifer Quinlan, Drexel University, Department of Nutrition Sciences; Angela Ruple, US Department of Commerce, National Seafood Inspection Laboratory; Stacey Schultz-Cherry, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital; Robert Seward, Seward Global Consulting; and Robert Tauxe, CDC, Division of Foodborne, Bacterial and Mycotic Diseases.

The Secretary of Agriculture appoints committee members following consultation with the Secretary of Health and Human Services. Appointees are scientists from academia, industry, other organizations, and Federal and State government. Committee members serve a two-year renewable term.

 NACMCF serves the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Department of Commerce, and the U.S. Department of Defense. NACMCF meets twice annually, while subcommittees meet more often as necessary.